Back to top

Congratulations to Library Board of Trustees President Anita Forte-Scott, who received the Special Districts Leadership in Technology Innovation Award from Government Technology, an AT&T program. Anita Forte-Scott

This year, the organization sought notable examples of how special districts applied innovative technologies and leadership to COVID-19 response and recovery efforts. Ms. Forte-Scott was chosen because “she spearheaded the extension of the Library’s digital resources to school and high school district students and their families, and even to those living outside the service area,” according to the Government Technology website. “To assist the community, the Library also cancelled all fines and passed a $1.5 million abatement on the property tax Library line item, resulting in a 9.4 percent reduction in taxes.”

Elected to the Library board in 2005, Ms. Forte-Scott played key roles in opening the Hanover Park Branch Library, the merger of five area library systems, the construction of Teen Place and major renovations to the Central Library. She also served as the Library’s Trustee representative on the North Suburban Library System Board of Directors from 2007-2011.

“During my years as a Library Trustee, I have greatly appreciated the opportunity to learn from other professionals about ways in which we can strive to provide more meaningful services to our patrons,” she said.

Noting the Library’s extensive growth since its “humble beginnings in 1963,” Ms. Forte-Scott says she credits the dedicated staff and leadership of the trustees. “Our vision of being ‘A Bridge to Your Future’ is most notably seen by the generations of families who continue to utilize all that STDL has to offer.”

Always looking ahead, Ms. Forte-Scott said she’d like to see the Library “continue to transform its spaces into ones that are attractive, meaningful, and build and sustain memories through the promotion of equity, arts and culture, creativity, and community engagement.”

The Library is grateful to Ms. Forte-Scott for her 15 years of service and her valuable contributions to the Library and community.