Back to top

It's been 50 years (yes, 50!) since the release of Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. The movie adaptation of Roald Dahl's book of a slightly different name, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, is about a young boy winning a golden ticket that allows him to tour the eccentric chocolatier's factory alongside a group of not-so-well-behaved kids.

If you loved the movie or the book (or both), we've got some suggestions for your next pick.

Book River
Book River Title
Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory Read Alikes
Book River Items

Chocolate : Sweet Science and Dark Secrets of the World's Favorite Treat (2015)

by Kay Frydenborg

When I think of Willy Wonka, my first thought is always ... candy! Find out about the eye-opening history of chocolate with this engaging nonfiction title. — Allison Riggs, Teen Librarian

The Candy Caper (2020)

by Tom Watson

The Candy Caper, the first title in the new series Trouble at Table 5 by Tom Watson, is an early chapter book introducing Mollie, Simon and Rosie. Mollie likes to "know things" and when she sees the jar of candy on Principal Shelton's desk, she has to know how many candies are in the jar. With the help of her friends, Mollie sets out on a mission to count the candy, no matter what the risk. — Vicki Heller, Collection Development Librarian


Treasure Island!!! (2012)

by Sara Levine

A farcical and quirky tale of a recent college graduate who reads Treasure Island and is inspired to live her life adhering to its core values: boldness, resolution, independence and horn-blowing, and makes her decisions accordingly, including but not limited to the less-than-legal acquisition of a parrot. The offbeat and darkly comedic tone of this quick read calls to mind the whimsy of Roald Dahl, albeit for a slightly older audience. — Emily Vinci, Fiction Manager


Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children (2016)

by Inc Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment

Jacob must use the clues his grandfather left him to solve a peculiar mystery that spans different worlds and time. This mysterious journey allows Jacob to discover the truth behind his family secrets and discover his true identity. This movie was directed by Tim Burton and stars Eva Green and Samuel L. Jackson. — Dina Ragano, Fiction, Movies & Music Department Coordinator


Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (2001)

by Roald Dahl

If you enjoyed the Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory movie, you should definitely read the book it was based on Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl. But don’t stop there! Try some of his other books, such as James and the Giant PeachMatilda and The Witches. These books were also made into movies so you can compare them and see how Dahl’s quirky stories that combine scary and funny - and remain popular today! - translate to the screen. — Gail Tobin, Hanover Park Branch Manager



Roald Dahl's Charlie and the Chocolate Factory : a Play (1983)

by Richard George

Loved the movie? Read the play! Learn to play the songs on the piano! Check out Roald Dahl's Charlie and the Chocolate Factory: A Play adapted by Richard George or Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory: Easy Piano by Leslie Bricusse and Anthony Newley.


Can't get enough Roald Dahl? Read his not-an-autobiography Boy: Tales of Childhood and learn about some of the experiences that led Dahl to a writing career.

Channel your inner Charlie Bucket and explore the joy of creative baking with modern-day Willy Wanka, Chef Amirah Kassem's The Power of Sprinkles: a Cake Book by the Founder of the Flour Shop